CAPTURED: PETER


This is Part 2 of the Captured series. Please find Part 1 here – CAPTURED: NOELLE.

Thanks for reading. – Amowi

**********************************************************

Right now, my biggest fear is that something will happen to her while she is in our care. She is so fragile. I catch myself watching out for her all day. Making sure she doesn’t trip or fall. Half the time, I’m watching her sleep, watching her eat, watching her watch me. The last few days trekking through the forest with her were amazing. It wasn’t meant to be. I have been on many of these trips moving many ‘packages’ from one place to another. Been doing this job since I was 17 and in all these years, I have never felt for any of the people the way I felt about Noelle. She made me feel sad. Sorry for all the other people Marcia and I had transferred over the years.

I remember when I met Marcia. It was just a few months after I started working for the group and Tom had been telling me about this girl who was special. I was a bit skeptical about her specialness. I mean Tom is my boss and everything but he is known to exaggerate. I once heard him describe me as ‘gifted’ which freaked me out at the time and continues to freak me out even now considering the way Tom treats me. Anyway, I digress. So I had been working with Marcia since I was 17 and she was 18. Moving people from one place to another as Tom directed. Our job was to pick a ‘package’ from location A and move that package to location B with as little stress to Tom as possible. We were not supposed to speak to the package unless to give instructions. Simple. But I had failed. Twice. Once last year when the four year old girl we were transporting had almost died from an allergic reaction (which was Marcia’s fault- she was supposed to check the damn food!) and this time, the second time with Noelle. I don’t know how Noelle got me to talk to her. One minute I was just watching her and the next I was asking her questions. She had just looked so dejected. Maybe that was it. She had just given up. All the other packages kept begging and talking and trying to convince us to let them go but Noelle had stopped. She had just stopped talking and stopped asking for anything. It had torn at me and it had made me want to hear her voice. And so I started asking questions. Talking to her, trying to get her to fight. And I begun to enjoy the conversation. Maybe a little too much.

I digress again. I was telling you about meeting Marcia. She was like a fireball. You may think Marcia is weird now but when I met her she had dyed her natural hair red and it stuck out at odd angles and she had tattoos in too many places. Now her hair is permed, cut into a neat bob and it’s black. It has blue streaks sure but it’s mostly black. And she was high. All the time. Never shut up. Never stopped moving. But that’s not why Marcia scares me. Marcia scares me because during those first days, when she was hyper and everywhere, one day we were on our way to a location, running full speed through the bushes, this Marcia who never seemed to stop moving suddenly stopped still, ducked down and threw a knife so straight and so sure that it literally nailed a man to a tree by his left testicle. I am not kidding. It was the scariest thing I had ever seen. Turns out the man had a gun on us and was trying to pick a target but that’s a story for another day. Marcia is crazy and she is going to kill me when she finds out I spoke to Noelle.

Watching Noelle now, I think it crept up on me. I don’t know why I kissed her. I mean I know why I did it. It made logical sense at the time but in retrospect it makes no sense at all. I kissed her to reassure her. That’s what the plan was, but the kiss unsettled me. Confused me so much that now I needed reassurance and there was nowhere and no way to get it with Marcia two feet away from her at all times.

**********************************************************

Thanks for reading! Feedback is always appreciated. Email me: rowiehammond@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “CAPTURED: PETER

Leave a Reply

