wi-fi that needs a lan cable –


I’m a bit angry and pissed so I’m going to file this under ‘Rants’

internet in Ghana sucks. final.

whether it’s a modem, wi-fi, LAN cable, broadband.. whatever. it’s just terrible.

I’ve been having internet issues lately. My Airtel modem was messing up so I gave up on it after a while and bought a Glo modem. I was motivated partly by the fact that the Glo guys were giving free internet for the first month after buying the modem and partly by the fact that I felt Glo was too new to start making mistakes. Wrong. My modem wasn’t even a month old… just a little over a couple of weeks, and it just stopped working. Connects but no internet access… so i did the whole routine, go to the office complain, try again, try again, try again, call the customer service line.. no answer.. i did everything.
it started working and then the month ended and my bundle expired. ok now lemme load credit and buy a new bundle right? nope. it won’t let me load credit. at all. call the customer care line… no answer.. try again, no answer.. try loading the credit.. no hope.

and so i gave up. i gave up because i was tired of trying and also because i was coming to campus so i figured I’d get free wi-fi here so no problem. the internet in school is on a whole other menopausal level. it connects with no internet access, it connects with internet access but the web pages don’t load. I’m seriously frustrated and pissed. why can’t we get internet in Ghana that works? i have to connect both a LAN cable and the wi-fi on campus before my internet works now. and to top it all off, they’ve blocked all the sites!! why have you blocked YouTube??? haven’t you heard of learning videos???

yeah so i had to get this all out!!!!

So I haven’t been online for a while… haven’t blogged in a bit. I’m going to use these internet problems as the reason why part 3 of ‘The Blue Butterfly’ isn’t out yet. or any other story for that matter. Not as an excuse, just a reason. I’m not allowed to use ‘Writer’s Block’ as a reason anymore… nobody should tell me that I don’t need internet to write, just to post it and how come I’m posting this instead of part 3 now that I have internet. Nobody asked you.

Rowie.

5 thoughts on “wi-fi that needs a lan cable –

  1. Nii Mantse says:

    I think it’s just bad luck. Or maybe ur hood isn’t dope enough :p. I’d been using an airtel modem up until last week. No problems whatsoever and I get 3.75G!! I had to give it away so I go a vodafone modem. Had a few problems with that but one trip to the office and a software upgrade later, my thing works perfectly. As for the school internet dierr dnt talk. All the fibre di3b3n is just bs…so I’m bringing my modem nxt sem. Wanna share? 😛

Leave a Reply

